Single Malt Scotch Whiskey Geek Thread

I was recently reading through Solai’s thread on tequila and the thread on mead and found them both very initeresting. I was converted to tequila after a friend in Reno introduced me to the wonders of this fine sipping beverage.

I myself have been a collector and drinker of single malts for about 10 years now on and off. I am no expert (“we’re not experts!”)but have sampled many in my travels and would be interested in learning more from the hive mind.

Here is what I know. Single malts must be developed in Scotland if your going to call them Scotch. They are distilled by a single (i.e. “single” malt) distillery using only malt barley as the ingredient (i.e. single “malt”). The finished product is aged anywhere from 3 to 25 years (or more) before shipping to the public. Blended scotch is a blend of whiskeys from different sources and distilleries.
The liquor tends to take on the aroma and character (“terroir” in the wine world) of the specific region where the barley is grown and processed. For example, some single malts may taste very “earthy” or “peaty” while others have a distinct “smokey” or “salty” aroma. Keep in mind, nothing else is added to the barley. Individual flavors are unique to each batch and region which is what makes it so interesting.

Currently on my shelf is a:
Balvenie 15y (packs a punch with strong vanilla and honey)
Glenlivit 15 french oak reserve(Smooth, not super deep, a bit overpriced for what it is)
Glenlivit 18y (smooth, subtle, a very good bottle if a bit overpriced. Much like the Petron of the tequila world i am inclined to think.)
Clynelish 14y(excellent earthy texture an flavor, not the super smooth of the Glenlivits)

I would have more but being what they are, cost is an issue for me. You can’t really get a “good” bottle for under $40. Expect to pay $70-$80 or more for the good stuff.

Hope you all enjoy contributing to the thread. Looking forward to sharing and learning a lot more!

Durzo