Simple rules for better photography

First off, let me begin by saying I am no expert photographer. As long as I can remember I have always enjoyed taking pictures. Recently people have started asking me what my “secret” is…what are the things I do when taking pictures? After thinking about it I realize there are four basic rules of thumb that I follow. After having told a couple of people these ideas and getting their wildly positive feedback I thought it would be fun to put together a thread where not only can I talk about my approach, but others can talk about their techniques, tricks and tips.

So, enough with the talky…here are my four simple rules for photography:

1. Get closer.
    Less background “stuff” the better. Even take a moment to move some things or choose a background that is not busy.

This isn’t a perfect example, but it gets the point across:

v.

1. Turn off the flash!
    When you can, use natural light as flash washes out detail

Compare these two shots:

(part 1 of 3 due to the image limitation per thread)

or these of Lil’ Solai

of course, when not using a flash you will get a great many pictures that look like:

Part of the trick to using natural light, especially when there isn’t a whole lot of light (at night with only lamps on like these) is to steady yourself, choose a subject that is not moving (much) and take a boatload of pictures. Sometimes you get lucky!

1. Take too many pictures.
    Statistically the more pictures you take the more likely one will pop out as a “Woah!” shot. With digital photography there is no reason to not take hundreds of shots. Be good about purging the craaaaaap and you will be rewarded with the occasional amazing shot.

I had to take these shots:

to get this shot:

1. Break the rules
    Sometimes having a busy background helps, sometimes using a flash is key…have fun. Try different things, crazy angles. Take a few shots with flash and then turn it off.