Fiber Arts

As some of you may know, I’ve been crocheting for more than 20 years. I also recently taught myself to knit. The geek connection: My current project is a Season 12 Doctor Who (Tom Baker era) scarf, like this one:

I’m using a pattern from Witty Little Knitter, and since I’m allergic to wool, a nice soft acrylic yarn.

My progress:

This is gonna take a while.

I’ve also knitted and crocheted Jayne hats.

I know other folks on here are also into fiber arts like knitting, crocheting, needlepoint/cross stitch, sewing, dyeing, spinning. Let’s chat about it!

Man, I’ve always wanted a Baker scarf. I really need to take up knitting.

Social Knitworking is a fun podcast about… well pretty much this.

I got to stop scanning over the posts so fast, I thought it was a compound word for something else you had done for 20 yrs.

crocheting
:smiley:

That is frakkin sweet. Have you done the infamous Jayne Cunning cap yet? :cool:

The cool thing about this scarf is you only have to learn one stitch. It’s very simple. It’s just very long, and thus will seem to go on forever. And I’ll check that cast out! Thanks!

snort

That is frakkin sweet. Have you done the infamous Jayne Cunning cap yet? :cool:

Yup, I’ve done both a knit version (which I ended up not liking and subsequently scrapped it) and a crocheted one (which just needs a pom pom). I’m not crazy about the yarn I used, tho, so I forsee another attempt in the near future.

Here’s a pic of my current progress:

Wow Rach that scarf looks beautiful! How long is the finished version supposed to be?

(~waves~) Cool to find other fiber people here. I’ve been a knitter for more years than I’m gonna admit to here, and I’ve taken up spinning (including alpaca fiber!), occasional crochet, and even (thanks to the hubs, who thought a lucet would be a cool stocking stuffer) lucet cording. I haven’t knit a Jayne hat, but I have knit cool Viking baby hats for a friend’s tykes.

That counts as geekery, right?