Watching Firefly for the first time

Hello everyone,
I’ve just ordered the DVD set for firefly but I’m trying to figure out if I should watch Serenity first. Being a noob here I just thought I get some input on this.

Thanks and take care,

welcome to the forum.

you definitely want to watch the TV series first and watch Serenity as the series finale.

Agreed. TV show first. The movie Serenity, picks up where the show left off.

and a Hearty Welcome to the forums. :slight_smile:

Same as everyone else is saying. Also watch the episodes in DVD order not broadcast order

I am going to reiterate what everyone has said but want to be crystal clear on one point:

There is Serenity the pilot (the episode on your DVD box set) and there is Serenity the movie. Serenity the movie comes AFTER the DVD box set. Watching it before (as a friend of mine did by accident) isn’t fatal, but it sure ruins a lot. On disc 1 watch:

1. Serenity
  2. The Train Job
  3. Bushwhacked

and on the following discs watch them in standard order. For your reference the intended order is:

Intended Order
Serenity
The Train Job
Bushwhacked
Shindig
Safe
Our Mrs. Reynolds
Jaynestown
Out of Gas
Ariel
War Stories
Trash
The Message
Heart of Gold
Objects in Space

the broadcast order (which is not how you should watch it) was
9/20/02 The Train Job
9/27/02 Bushwhacked
10/4/02 Our Mrs. Reynolds
10/18/02 Jaynestown
10/25/02 Out of Gas
11/1/02 Shindig
11/8/02 Safe
11/15/02 Ariel
12/6/02 War Stories
12/13/02 Objects in Space
12/20/02 Serenity
(never aired in the U.S.) Trash
(never aired in the U.S.) The Message
(never aired in the U.S.) Heart of Gold

Listen to these people. They are very wise. I actually had seen Serenity (the movie) before watching Firefly, but there were many years between those two events. As Solai says, watching Serenity first isn’t fatal, but it makes a lot more sense after seeing the series (and it does ruin a lot).