The Doctor and Guns

In the current episode “Crimson Horror” Mrs. Gillyflower pulls a gun and starts shooting. I was kind of shocked at my personal gut reaction to this, in my mind I immediately thot, “There aren’t guns in Doctor Who!” and was kind of angry that one appeared rather needlessly.

Without being a Whovian expert I can only speak to modern Who, and hardly with any expertise. Here are the instances off the top of my head where a gun was a major plot point (I assume there were guns in Victory of the Daleks for example, I just don’t believe there was a plot point that hinged on them, they were simply there as part of the context of the moment).
[ul]
[li]Ninth Doctor: I can’t think of one gun instance[/li][li]Tenth Doctor: Only ep I can think of is “The Doctor’s Daughter” is the only one that comes to mind[/li][li]Eleventh Doctor: “Impossible Astronaut” River slings her gun (twice technically), A Town Called Mercy.[/li][/ul]That’s it. For all the content out there in the modern world that is remarkable. Of course British view of guns and American are different which may be a significant factor here, but it does beg the question:

[u]Should Guns have a presence in Doctor Who?

[/u]I’m not suggesting that guns be removed from Doctor Who, I am simply positing that when a gun appears it carries significant weight simply by the fact that we barely see them. I think that is why I was so shocked when Mrs. Gillyflower started waving one around, I felt a real fear for the Doctor knowing all it takes is one well placed bullet. This may explain why guns don’t show up more often, they pose a very real and immediate threat to the Doctor that a sonic screwdriver can’t save him from.

Anyway, I thot it would be an interesting subject to explore. Share your thots!

I think you could add “Let’s Kill Hitler” in there. Without Mels/Melody/spolier having one, the big plotty thing wouldn’t have happened.