SW Comic Timeline (Great Place to Get Started)

For those of you who may be thinking about jumping into Dark Horse’s great Star Wars comics, you might find the following information useful. I’m by no means a comic expert, but as I’ve become more and more drawn into DH/SW, I found myself making some notes as to how all the comics fit together, etc. These are those notes.

First, here’s the timeline I made for myself – an expanded version of the one that Dark Horse publishes on their site:

About the SW Timeline

As you can see above, the Star Wars universe is at least 5,000 years old – and based on some of the other expanded universe material as much as 25,000 years old. And this is just recorded history. Just from my quick look, it seems that estimates place the sentient/habited portion of the SW universe at maybe more than 100,000 years old.

Side note: Interestingly, this is why technology is so much less important in SW than in Star Trek. While the people in 'Trek have only been traveling the stars for a few hundred years, SW’s repulsorlifts, light weapons, and light-speed drives have been around for hundreds of millenia.

Anyway, the SW timeline revolves around a key point in time: the battle of Yavin – when Luke and pals blew up the Death Star at the end of Star Wars Ep. IV: A New Hope. You’ll therefore see dates interchangeably as:

BBY: Before the Battle of Yavin
ABY: After the Battle of Yavin
Before ANH: Before A New Hope
After ANH: After A New Hope
BSW4: Before Star Wars IV
ASW4: After Star Wars IV

…and yes, I was lazy in my chart and used whatever one popped into my head at the moment.

The Issues Column/Getting Started

As a comic n00b, at first I had a hard time understanding how all the different comic series and runs fit together. There were lots of cool comics on the shelves, but I had no idea where to start to “follow” one of them. Here’s some advice based on my experience. (You are, of course, welcome to take or leave the advice.)