NaNoWriMo 2009

Is anybody else doing this? Three minutes until starting time for me, and I think I might be able to make it to 50k this year. I’m writing a post-magicocalypse story.

http://www.nanowrimo.org/eng/user/228873 , for anyone who wants another writing buddy!

I did the last two years (and made 50k on both of them), but I knew that getting settled into my new house would take up too much of my time this year.

I’m so excited! This is my first time. I took a break and found this thread. Yup. Ridiculously exicted. Are you guys as stuck as I am?

Checking in on any NaNo GWCers. How’s it going for y’all? Got any lines or excerpts that you’re particularly proud of? Funny stories of something that happened to you as you wrote this week? Frustrations?

Personally, I’m amused that last night I actually had to stop writing and go get a hug before I could continue while in the middle of writing a scene where a character who was very badly slashed up by a mutant hog was about to have salt water poured into his open wounds. It’s not nearly as bad as some things I’ve done to other characters, but I was so deep into it that it really got to me.

And I’m celebrating being just a couple of words away from being at the quarter way there mark.

I am writing a serial killer story and I have found I can’t write scenes where women are killed. I just can’t–it makes me sick–so I understand the need for a hug. I’m dodging, though: my killer kills only men which has made for odd plot turns.

Well, isn’t that what serial killers do? Follow a pattern.

Regarding the difficult, you should write that into the story. Have the killer go into a cross dressing bar or drag queen hang out to work up the gumption to killing a woman. Just a thot.

Absolutely. In general, if there’s a sexual component to their killings, their victims will be the sort of people that they find attractive. A straight man who hunts other straight men would be very unusual, although not unheard of.