Naming a Character

Hello all,

I am a first-time writer. I’m writing science fiction, and I’m trying to name my protagonist. She is a 14 yo girl, and I’m trying to come up with a name that is both vulnerable and strong.

Any name ideas, or name resource ideas?

Thanks.

AMR

Hi there. Please whatever you choose don’t use the name Zoe. Honestly seems every TV script in the past decade has that name somewhere in the call sheet.

I’ve always been partial to Abigail. On the plus side, it also give you short form nickname options:

She leveled her pulse gun at the Karellian.

“My mom and my friends call me ABBY admiral. You’re neither” she hissed.

Etc. Etc. Etc :slight_smile:

OB

P.S. give GWC a shout out when you collect your Hugo :slight_smile:

What about Claudia?

Maybe the Mary Sue Litmus Test will help: http://www.springhole.net/writing/marysue.htm

Google websites which provide names for various ethnicities. Such as Navajo, Japanese, Irish, Scandinavian etc. Based upon your characters racial background, and use a name which reflects your characters strengths. Many names have ancient meanings and if this is reflected in your character it is a nice touch, it can even be worked into their back story.

Mythology is also a good resource. And there is a site which is a ‘name generator’, if you get really stuck… I forget the name of it, but many writers have gone there. If I remember correctly it generates Icelandic names… I am sure you can use your GoogleFu to find it.

Serendipity allows for this article over on io9.

Character names that should be banned forever.

OB

Good pull OB, liked the article…