Help Me Build My New Computer!

After 6 and a half years of tweaks and numerous upgrades, I think it is finally time to replace my computer. I am looking to build my own this time around. I’ve never done it before but I know enough about hardware at this point to do it. I’m looking for some help on exactly what to get.
I’d like to make this a good gaming PC, one that can last for a while, but not get too insane about it. I’m hoping to spend less then $1000.

My philosophies on buying a computer is you should get the best processor you can, because that is the hardest thing to replace. Other upgrades like RAM and Video Cards are relatively inexpensive and easy to do. CPU is a bit more tricky. Going along with the CPU is the motherboard, which I also think should be top of the line.
At the same time I am trying to keep costs down. I have some hardware I can recycle from other computers, so I won’t be needing a monitor, speakers or CD/DVD drives.

I have never built a computer from the ground up before, so any general advice on the building process would also be appreciated.

To begin, what I need some hive mind advice on – The Processor and Motherboard.
The AMD Phenom II X6 looks like the best deal at the moment. Intel has i7, which is more expensive and looks almost exactly the same. Is there a noticeable difference in most resource intensive applications and games?

Other specific questions:
-AMD (ATI) vs. Nvidia – These two are constantly be going back and forth for the most powerful hardware. I’ve had ATI in the past, which have had good performance, but driver support which was OK at best. I have never had Nvidia, how is their driver and other support?
-Since I’m probably going with an AMD processor, do you guys know if there is any performance boost with AMD processor and AMD graphics card?
-Crossfire and SLI – Worth it or waste of money?
Loaded questions, I’m sure.