Golf

Golf. I know. On a forum dedicated to science fiction why the hell would I start a thread about golf? Why? Because I wanted to share with my homies something that I have recently experienced and find myself thinking about a lot.

I started playing golf about a year ago. I had never played growing up and looked down on the sport with utter disdain. Assholes played golf. Golf was that thing that played on the television all during the day on Sunday that was the most boring thing on the planet. However, based on a number of my friends starting to pick it up as well as my brother and father-in-law encouraging me I reluctantly decided to give it a try.

So on a brisk April morning last year I went to the driving range with a bag of handmedown clubs. I breathed in deep, put out the first ball, swung the driver and hit the ground short of the ball sending a shockwave of pain up my arms and tweaking my back. I swung again and this time I missed everything…the ball, the ground…I nearly lost the club. I swung again and again and nothing seemed to improve. I left frustrated and humiliated thinking to myself, “I was right all along…this is the stupidest sport on the planet.” I thot about those jackass types who make it look so easy, what the hell was I missing?

I took a couple weeks off and then went out and tried again having read some instructional articles about what I should be doing. Full of false confidence I went out and tried again. I actually was worse this time. Everytime I would swing it was a mystery as to where the ball was going to go or why it was doing what it was doing. I took a few lessons, but even those didn’t seem to help. I understood more what I was doing wrong but couldn’t figure out how to make it right.