For Whom The Bell Tolls-Earnest Hemingway

I’m reading “For Whom the Bell Tolls” by Earnest Hemingway and the original poem by John Donne is in the front of the book. I understand everything perfectly but for the last three lines, I don’t see what they have to do with the rest of the poem. I’m guessing here but I assume it has something to do with the history of executions, executions typically being held at the top of an hour and the town bell tower ringing at the same time? I still don’t see what that has to do with the rest of the poem though.

No man is an island,
Entire of itself.
Each is a piece of the continent,
A part of the main.
If a clod be washed away by the sea,
Europe is the less.
As well as if a promontory were.
As well as if a manor of thine own
Or of thine friend’s were.
Each man’s death diminishes me,
For I am involved in mankind.
Therefore, send not to know
For whom the bell tolls,
It tolls for thee.

I used to love poetry when I was a student. So I resisted the urge to see what I could find online about interpreting this poem and decided to flex the old brain-muscle.

I think what Donne is saying is that because each individual human is interconnected with all others through our webs of relationships (“For I am involved in mankind”) the death knell for a single stranger should not be ignored because it also robs you, the reader, of a part of his whole human self.

“Send not to know for whom the bell tolls” means, like you said, that Donne urges the reader not to idly question or even ignore the chiming of bells that announce publicly notable deaths because doing so means that the reader is ignoring his own intellectual and spiritual wellbeing. A part of him has died with those “for whom the bell toll[s].”

I don’t know enough about Donne to say, but I strongly suspect that he wasn’t intending to limit his commentary to capital punishment and execution, though that is certainly one layer of interpretation.