Dungeon & Dragons (or other RPG) Stories and Memories

In honor of the current Dragon Arc, I thot it would be fun to share stories about Dungeons & Dragons roleplaying game experiences. I’m talking paper and dice, tabletop D&D here (let’s keep video games a separate discussion).
I used to play quite a bit in my 20s and 30s (always less and less as I got older of course).

How long and how long ago did you play?

Always with the same group?

Did you ever run the game (DungeonMaster)?

Did you have cool metal painted figures? Maps? Props?

Favoriate D&D characters?

Most memorable campaign or moment?

EDIT: Changed thread title to include “(other RPGs)”

Just D&D or other systems? Because I’ve been playing with tabletop RPG groups for a few years now, but only played my first D&D game proper last year.

Sure! What do you play?

I have to say that the memories that stick with me are from Traveler™. I would make character drawings for all my players (a lot of them ended up looking like Han Solo, oddly)

I loved the char generation in Traveler. It was almost a game in itself (do you try to reach retirement? You might die!)

RIFTS (Chaos Earth, but mostly Three Galaxies)
Scion
Exalted
Star Wars
Dark Heresy
Rogue Trader
D&D
Dark Suns
Forgotten Realms

So many stories from so many games… most memorable characters have been Dr. Ameles, my bug medic from RIFTS (think Walter Bishop from Fringe crossed with Dug from Up in the body of a four-foot-tall bug who rides around on a Segway), Sansa from Forgotten Realms (orphaned Tiefling cleric raised in a dwarven monastery who had no idea why people kept running from the demonic-looking seven-foot-tall horned thingy with red-purple skin), Aruka from Dark Suns (cannibal nihlist halfling rogue), and Merula Iero, my Rogue Trader character (human missionary who is dead set on killing all heretics but especially all xenos scum. Did I say killing? I meant purifying with fire and a giant chainsword.)