3/2012: JRR Tolkien, "The Hobbit"

Please forgive me if I’m not nominating this book correctly for the March/April 2012 vote, I’m a newb.

I think this would make a good club pick with the release of the film adaptation this year. Also, if you haven’t heard of it before, there’s a podcast called The Tolkien Professor: http://bit.ly/yQhqYp
Corey Olsen is a college prof who teaches a course on Tolkien. He was also a guest on The Geek’s Guide To The Galaxy podcast a while back: http://bit.ly/xsaONd Very fascinating dude if you like to geek out on Middle Earth.

Someone please correct me if I screwed up the Book Club etiquette, thanks!

Welcome aboard. We’ll never “n00b” you, so no need to newb yourself. Tolkein Prof stopped by the Watercooler before you did!

http://forum.galacticwatercooler.com/showthread.php?9281-GWC-Podcast-197&highlight=corey+olsen

Keep all the quality book suggestions coming.

No correction needed! :slight_smile:
(Besides which, we’re nice people around here)
Thanks for the nomination!

Muchas gracias!

Welcome -Philip- !

RE: The Hobbit

Great suggestion, because
A: A surprising number of people who’ve read the trilogy have never read The Hobbit, and
B: It’s a normal-sized novel and not something that one would have to dedicate their entire Spring to reading, and
C: It’s AWESOME !
D: It’s got a TALKING FRAKKIN’ DRAGON! Hello!

Thanks Topgun! You just sold The Hobbit better than I did.

It’s March 1, and I get to announce, to the joy of many, that the Book Club selection for March and April is The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien.

Not far away was his island, of which Bilbo knew nothing, and there in his hiding-place he kept a few wretched oddments, and one very beautiful thing, very beautiful, very wonderful. He had a ring, a golden ring, a precious ring.

SPOILERS AHEAD

And to the delight of many, The Hobbit is our March/April Book Club selection. Get (re-)reading, my friends, and when you’re ready, head over to the discussion. :slight_smile: